

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

June 12, 2019, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Amy Bixler, Doug Brown, John Daniel, Phredd Evans, and Dr. Bo Hannaford
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Bruce Day and Secretary of Education, Michael Rogers
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey, and Lecrecia Schmidt
VISITORS:	Bryan Duke, University of Central Oklahoma; Craig Walker, State Department of Education; Robyn Miller, State Department of Education; Sidney Lee, eCapitol; Jeanne Barnett, CCOSA; Elyse Maxwell, CCOSA; Vanessa Anton, Northeastern Oklahoma State University; Ryan Walters, Oklahoma Achieves

Call to Order: Dr. Bo Hannaford called the meeting to order at 1:35 P.M.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Bo Hannaford asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Page 1 of 3

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the March 13, 2019 Commission Meeting: Mr. Evans made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 13, 2019 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Daniel:	abstain
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

Discussion and action on Continued State Accreditation for Northeastern State University: Mr. Brown made a motion to approve seven years of continued state accreditation for Northeastern State University. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Daniel:	abstain
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

Discussion and action on a need for emergency rulemaking due to a compelling public interest. Mr. Evans made a motion on a need for emergency rulemaking due to compelling public interest. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Daniel:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

Discussion and action on adoption of emergency rules related to an approved assessment of general knowledge for teacher candidates: Ms. Bixler made a motion to adopt emergency rules regarding an approved assessment of general knowledge for teacher candidates. Mr. Brown seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Daniel:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

Discussion and action on cut scores for Grade 11 Science Content College and Career Readiness Assessment (CCRA): Mr. Brown made a motion to adopt the science cut scores as recommended by Oklahoma State Department of Education, based on the panel's recommendation. Mr. Evans seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote.

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Mr. Evans:	approve
Mr. Day:	absent	Mr. Daniel:	approve
Secretary Rogers:	absent		

New Business: None

Program Updates: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, Director, updated the commission on the Administrator Exam Focus Group and upcoming assessment stakeholder group meeting. Ms. Jennifer Gambrell, Assistant Director, gave updates on PPAT® and the trauma-informed teaching meeting. Ms. Angie Bookout, Senior Coordinator, updated the commission on the Silo and Boise City school performance reviews. Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director, gave updates on an upcoming dashboard for OEQA website.

Announcements and Informational Items: Dr. Craig thanked Ms. Bixler, Mr. Brown, Mr. Evans, and Dr. Hannaford for their years of service to the commission.

The meeting adjourned at 2:39 P.M. The minutes of the June 12, 2019 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on August 21, 2019.

Signed:

Secretary Michael Rogers

Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director